I believe

I have this blog and I have had little idea what to do with it. So, here is the idea. I am going to try to set out what I believe. The more I think about it, the more I hope to refine it. Like any blog, it will be a self-portrait but one which I hope will let me critically assess myself. If you have stumbled across this and want to suggest that a belief has a necessary corollary or those listed involve contradiction, tell me but do it in 140 characters @seanjones11kbw

Part 1: I do God

  • I believe in God

  • Believing in God does not make me better than you

  • If you believe in a different God, that does not make me better than you

  • Your belief is not a justification for me treating you badly or letting you be treated badly

  • I will not justify or excuse the wrong others do merely because they share my beliefs

  • No religious belief should be protected from critical scrutiny or criticism

  • I abhor those who use religion to try to avoid responsibility for their own wrongdoing

  • If you believe your God wants you to hate and/or harm others you should disobey